Dr Simon Weise

Associate | Competition | Lawyer since 2018

Contact
Phone: +49 211 20052-420
Fax: +49 211 20052-100
Email: s.weise(at)glademichelwirtz.com

Assistant
Alina Middelberg / Katrin Marx

Service
V-Card Dr Simon Weise

Short Profile

Dr Simon Weise is an associate at GLADE MICHEL WIRTZ in the COMPETITION practice. He advises German and international clients on all aspects of German and European competition law. His practice focuses on national and international merger control proceedings including matters of foreign direct investment control, advising complex cooperations between competitors, questions of distribution antitrust law as well as advising on general compliance matters.

From 2007 to 2012, he studied law at the Heinrich Heine University Düsseldorf with a focus on competition law. Afterwards, he worked as a research assistant at a chair for European and International Law at the HHU while working on his doctorate thesis, which deals with the interplay of state liability and merger control. During his legal clerkship, which he accomplished from 2015 to 2017 in the district of the Higher Regional Court of Düsseldorf, he worked for the German Federal Cartel Office and in the antitrust team of a leading international law firm. Simon Weise was ranked by Best Lawyers in cooperation with Handelsblatt in the category "Ones to Watch" in the field of antitrust law for the first time in 2022. He is a native speaker of German, fluent in English and has basic knowledge of French.

Simon Weise is a member of the Studienvereinigung Kartellrecht e.V., the Antitrust Group of DICO – Deutsches Institut für Compliance e.V. and the Düsseldorf Moot Association (DMA) e.V. Moreover, he is committed to the exchange among young business lawyers in Düsseldorf as a member of the board of the JDWA – Verein Junger Düsseldorfer Wirtschaftsanwälte e.V. (Association of Young Düsseldorf Business Lawyers). 

In his free time, he enjoys cooking, likes music of all kinds and has been a brave holder of a seasonal ticket for Fortuna Düsseldorf until his daughter was born.

 

Experience and Matters

Simon Weise has recently advised on the following matters:

  • Defence of an international chemical group in antitrust proceedings of the European Commission and companies from different sectors in antitrust proceedings of German antitrust authorities.
  • Advising and representing domestic and foreign companies in the preparation and handling of merger control proceedings before the European Commission and the German Federal Cartel Office (inter alia in the agricultural, chemical, retail, infrastructure, IT/software and logistics sectors as well as other industries), including matters of foreign direct investment control.
  • Advising companies and associations from a variety of industries on their self-assessment under antitrust law, including the coordination with the German Federal Cartel Office, and on the identification of antitrust law risks by way of internal investigations or compliance audits.
  • Advice on the implementation of cooperations between competitors in various industries.
  • Design, implementation and review of compliance structures, including the realization of compliance trainings.
  • Assertion and defense of antitrust damage claims and enforcement of other antitrust claims.

Publications

  • Weise, Der Beweiswert von TKÜ-Erkenntnissen im Kartellbußgeldverfahren, in: Wirtschaft und Wettbewerb 2021, 206–212
  • Weise, Staatshaftung in der Fusionskontrolle – Ein rechtsvergleichender Beitrag zur Dogmatik der deutschen und europäischen Staatsunrechtshaftung am Beispiel der Haftungsfolgen fehlerhaft ausgeübter Fusionskontrolle, 2020.
  • Weise/Czibere, Zivilrechtliche Folgen von (Hardcore-)Kartellverstößen in Franchiseverhältnissen, in: Zeitschrift für Vertriebsrecht 2014, 275–280.

Dr. Simon Weise

Associate | Competition | Rechtsanwalt seit 2018

Kontakt
Telefon: +49 211 20052-420
Telefax: +49 211 20052-100
E-Mail: s.weise(at)glademichelwirtz.com

Assistenz
Alina Middelberg / Katrin Marx

Service
V-Card Dr. Simon Weise

Kurzprofil

Dr. Simon Weise ist Associate bei GLADE MICHEL WIRTZ im Bereich Competition. Er berät deutsche und internationale Unternehmen zu allen Fragen des deutschen und europäischen Kartellrechts. 

Von 2007 bis 2012 studierte Simon Weise Rechtswissenschaften mit kartellrechtlichem Schwerpunkt an der Heinrich-Heine-Universität Düsseldorf. Nach dem Studium war er promotionsbegleitend als Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter an einem europa- und völkerrechtlichen Lehrstuhl der HHU tätig und wurde mit einer Arbeit an der Schnittstelle von Staatshaftung und Fusionskontrolle promoviert. Im Rahmen seines Referendariats, das er von 2015 bis 2017 im OLG-Bezirk Düsseldorf absolvierte, durchlief er unter anderem Stationen beim Bundeskartellamt sowie im Kartellrechtsteam einer führenden internationalen Großkanzlei. Im Jahr 2022 wurde Simon Weise erstmals von Best Lawyers in Kooperation mit dem Handelsblatt in der Kategorie "Ones to Watch" im Bereich Kartellrecht ausgezeichnet. Er spricht als Muttersprache Deutsch, fließend Englisch und hat Grundkenntnisse in Französisch.

Simon Weise ist u.a. Mitglied der Studienvereinigung Kartellrecht e.V., dem Arbeitskreis Kartellrecht des DICO – Deutsches Institut für Compliance e.V. sowie der Düsseldorf Moot Association (DMA) e.V. Für den Austausch zwischen jungen Wirtschaftsanwältinnen und -anwälten in Düsseldorf engagiert er sich zudem im Vorstand des JDWA – Verein Junger Düsseldorfer Wirtschaftsanwälte e.V. 

In seiner Freizeit kocht er gerne, schätzt Musik aller Art und war bis zur Geburt seiner Tochter tapferer Inhaber einer Dauerkarte von Fortuna Düsseldorf.

 

Schwerpunkte & Mandate

Simon Weise war zuletzt u.a. in folgenden Mandaten tätig:

  • Verteidigung eines internationalen Chemiekonzerns in einem Kartellbußgeldverfahren der Europäischen Kommission bzw. von Unternehmen unterschiedlicher Branchen in Kartellbußgeldverfahren deutscher Kartellbehörden.
  • Beratung und Vertretung in- und ausländischer Unternehmen bei der Vorbereitung und Durchführung von Fusionskontrollverfahren bei dem Bundeskartellamt und der Europäischen Kommission (u.a. im Agrar-, Chemie-, Handels-, Infrastruktur-, IT/Software- und Logistikbereich sowie in verschiedenen Industriezweigen).
  • Beratung von Unternehmen und Verbänden unterschiedlicher Branchen zur kartellrechtlichen Selbstveranlagung einschließlich der Abstimmung mit dem Bundeskartellamt sowie zur Identifikation kartellrechtlicher Risiken im Wege interner Untersuchungen bzw. Compliance-Audits.
  • Beratung bei der Verhandlung und Umsetzung von Kooperationen zwischen Wettbewerbern in verschiedenen Branchen.
  • Konzeptionierung, Implementierung und Überprüfung von Compliance-Strukturen einschließlich der Durchführung von Compliance-Schulungen.
  • Geltendmachung und Abwehr von Kartellschadensersatzansprüchen sowie Durchsetzung sonstiger kartellrechtlicher Ansprüche.

Veröffentlichungen

  • Weise, Der Beweiswert von TKÜ-Erkenntnissen im Kartellbußgeldverfahren, in: Wirtschaft und Wettbewerb 2021, 206–212
  • Weise, Staatshaftung in der Fusionskontrolle – Ein rechtsvergleichender Beitrag zur Dogmatik der deutschen und europäischen Staatsunrechtshaftung am Beispiel der Haftungsfolgen fehlerhaft ausgeübter Fusionskontrolle, 2020
  • Weise/Czibere, Zivilrechtliche Folgen von (Hardcore-)Kartellverstößen in Franchiseverhältnissen, in: Zeitschrift für Vertriebsrecht 2014, 275–280