Dr Jean Pascal Slotwinski-Michel

Associate | Competition | Lawyer since 2019

Contact
Phone: +49 211 20052-350
Fax: +49 211 20052-100
Email: j.slotwinski(at)glademichelwirtz.com

Assistant
Alina Middelberg

Service
V-Card Dr Jean Pascal Slotwinski-Michel

Short Profile

Jean Pascal Slotwinski-Michel is an associate at GLADE MICHEL WIRTZ in the COMPETITION practice and advises German and international clients on all issues relating to German and European antitrust law.

Jean Pascal Slotwinski-Michel studied law at the University of Osnabrück with a focus on competition law and intellectual property rights and passed his first state examination in law in 2013. He then worked as a research assistant in the field of antitrust law at a commercial and business law institute at the University of Osnabrück and completed an LL.M. degree at the University of Edinburgh from 2013 to 2014. Subsequently, he wrote his doctorate theses regarding a topic at the interface area between competition and patent law and worked for several years as a research assistant in a leading German law firm in Düsseldorf.

During his legal clerkship, Jean Pascal Slotwinski-Michel spent his legal traineeship at GLADE MICHEL WIRTZ as well as the Consulate General of the Federal Republic of Germany in Mumbai, India, and a corporate law firm in Tel Aviv/Jerusalem, Israel. He passed the second state examination in law in 2019 in the district of the OLG Düsseldorf.

In addition to his native language German, Jean Pascal Slotwinski-Michel is fluent in English and has a good knowledge of Polish. In his spare time, he tries to spend as much time as possible travelling and with friends and family. In addition to his own sports activities such as running or playing squash, Jean Pascal Slotwinski is a passionate supporter of SV Werder Bremen.

 

Experience and Matters

Recently and at present, Jean Pascal Slotwinski-Michel has advised on the following matters:

  • Defence of a company in cartel proceedings of the German Federal Cartel Office in the "beer" cartel case
  • Advising and representing domestic and foreign companies in the preparation and handling of merger control proceedings before the German Federal Cartel Office and the European Commission, such as Provinzial Rheinland on the merger with Provinzial Nordwest, United Internet AG on the takeover bid for Tele Columbus AG, ZF Friedrichshafen AG on the establishment of an e-mobility joint venture with Wolong Electric Group, private equity funds such as Intermediate Capital Group and Oakley Capital on ongoing acquisitions as well as advising on mergers in other industries, such as "hospitals", "software", "social services", "cleaning", "non-prescription medical devices" etc.
  • Defence of cartel damage claims, e.g in the cartel cases "rail technology", "beer", "drugstore products" or "gas-insulated switchgears" as well as individual enforcement of cartel damage claims in the cases "stainless steel" and "heavy plates"
  • Defence and enforcement of other antitrust claims (e.g. supply or access claims in the context of dominance)
  • Advice on the negotiation and implementation of cooperation agreements between competitors as well as advice on distribution systems and on the development of online platforms

Publications

  • Slotwinski, Der strategische Einsatz von Patenten als möglicher Missbrauch aus patent-, lauterkeits-, zivil- und kartellrechtlicher Perspektive, Dissertation, 2021

Dr. Jean Pascal Slotwinski-Michel

Associate | Competition | Rechtsanwalt seit 2019

Kontakt
Telefon: +49 211 20052-350
Telefax: +49 211 20052-100
E-Mail: j.slotwinski(at)glademichelwirtz.com

Assistenz
Alina Middelberg

Service
V-Card Dr. Jean Pascal Slotwinski-Michel

Kurzprofil

Jean Pascal Slotwinski-Michel ist Associate im Bereich COMPETITION und berät nationale sowie internationale Unternehmen zu allen Fragen des deutschen und europäischen Kartellrechts. 

Jean Pascal Slotwinski-Michel studierte Rechtswissenschaften an der Universität Osnabrück mit wettbewerbsrechtlichem Schwerpunkt sowie Bezügen zu gewerblichen Schutzrechten und legte sein erstes juristisches Staatsexamen 2013 ab. Im Anschluss war er als Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter im Bereich des Kartellrechts an einem Handels- und Wirtschaftsrechtlichen Institut an der Universität Osnabrück tätig und absolvierte von 2013 bis 2014 einen LL.M. Studiengang an der University of Edinburgh. Im Nachgang promovierte er zu einem Thema an der Schnittstelle zwischen Wettbewerbs- und Patentrecht und arbeitete parallel mehrere Jahre promotionsbegleitend als Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter in einer führenden deutschen Großkanzlei in Düsseldorf.

Im Rahmen des Referendariats verbrachte Jean Pascal Slotwinski-Michel seine Anwaltsstation bei GLADE MICHEL WIRTZ und absolvierte darüber hinaus Stationen im Generalkonsulat der Bundesrepublik Deutschland in Mumbai, Indien, sowie in einer Wirtschaftskanzlei in Tel Aviv/Jerusalem, Israel. Die zweite juristische Staatsprüfung legte er 2019 im Bezirk des OLG Düsseldorf ab.

Neben seiner Muttersprache Deutsch spricht Jean Pascal Slotwinski-Michel fließend Englisch und verfügt über gute Kenntnisse in der polnischen Sprache. In seiner Freizeit versucht er so viel Zeit wie möglich auf Reisen sowie mit Freunden und Familie zu verbringen. Neben eigener sportlicher Betätigung beim Laufen oder Squash spielen, ist Jean Pascal Slotwinski-Michel leidenschaftlicher Anhänger des SV Werder Bremen.

 

Schwerpunkte & Mandate

Jean Pascal Slotwinski-Michel war zuletzt u.a. in folgenden Mandaten tätig:

  • Verteidigung eines Unternehmens in einem Kartellbußgeldverfahren des Bundeskartellamts im Bereich "Bier"
  • Beratung und Vertretung in- und ausländischer Unternehmen bei der Vorbereitung und Durchführung von Fusionskontrollverfahren bei dem Bundeskartellamt und der Europäischen Kommission, wie z.B. Provinzial Rheinland bei der Fusion mit der Provinzial Nordwest, United Internet AG beim Übernahmeangebot für die Tele Columbus AG, ZF Friedrichshafen AG bei der Gründung eines E-Mobility Joint Ventures mit der Wolong Electric Group, Private Equity Fonds wie Intermediate Capital Group und Oakley Capital zu laufenden Akquisitionen sowie Begleitung von Zusammenschlüssen in weiteren Industriezweigen, wie z.B. "Krankenhäuser", "Software", "Sozialeinrichtungen", "Reinigung", "nicht-verschreibungspflichtige Medizinprodukte" etc.
  • Abwehr- von Kartellschadensersatzansprüchen z.B. in den Kartellfällen "Gleistechnik", "Bier", "Drogerieartikel" oder "Gasisolierte Schaltanlagen" sowie individuelle Geltendmachung von Kartellschadensersatzansprüchen in den Fällen "Edelstahl" und "Grobbleche"
  • Abwehr und Geltendmachung von sonstigen kartellrechtlichen Ansprüchen (z.B. Zugangs- oder Belieferungsansprüche im Kontext der Marktbeherrschung)
  • Beratung bei der Umsetzung von Kooperationen zwischen Wettbewerbern sowie in vertriebskartellrechtlichen Fragen und dem Aufbau von Onlineplattformen 

Veröffentlichungen

  • Slotwinski, Der strategische Einsatz von Patenten als möglicher Missbrauch aus patent-, lauterkeits-, zivil- und kartellrechtlicher Perspektive, Dissertation, 2021